Something has Changed

December was always my favorite time of year, I was always the one that wanted to decorate on the first of November. The last couple years I’ve putting off a little more each year. December 2011 i think was the last year I had my decorations up early, Although that was the first year we hosted Christmas with my in-laws. Nothing went right that year, We gave up our bed to my husbands parents, I slept with my oldest son and my husband and his sister took the couches in the basement. I can remember his sister accusing me of stealing from her, which is something I would never do. My husband decided to take her side and it crushed me. I held my son that night (Christmas Eve) and cried my self to sleep. The next day I couldn’t get into a good mood, the kids were sat in front of large piles of presents and told to dig in. I wasn’t able to take pictures and i didn’t even know really what anyone got cause it was a just a big free for all, a mess and it just brought me down even lower then i was already feeling. I was never happy that Christmas was over and that I could put everything away and forget about it all.

So there it is, the something that changed. and every year sense then I absolutely dread getting the tree and the decorations out. I put it off a little more each year. Now here we sit, its December 3rd 2016 and no decorations put up, not even taken out of storage. The kids are so excited and I love seeing their faces light up when they see all the pretty lights when we are traveling. They ask me everyday if we can get the tree out. and keep saying yes we will tomorrow. Last year and the year before I got the stuff out and put the tree together and told the kids to have have it. this year will most likely be the same. As hard as I try every year to get into spirit I just never turns out, I count down the days tell i can just put it all away and get it out of my sight until the next year. Maybe tomorrow Ill get it all out……………..

Author:

I'm a Wife and Mother of 5 children, I've never done anything great that would make me stand out and even if i had I would hide from the attention. I love to try new things ie; cooking, baking, macrame and D.I.Y. And new to the list is quilting. I love starting projects and seeing the outcomes unfold in front of me.

One thought on “Something has Changed

Leave a Reply

